Cold weather; doors and weather stripping

Aptera Community Aptera Discussions Cold weather; doors and weather stripping

Aptera Community Aptera Discussions Cold weather; doors and weather stripping

• Cold weather; doors and weather stripping

John Malcom updated 1 month ago 7 Members · 9 Posts
  • Peter Robbinson

August 18, 2021 at 12:55 pm

Hi, I’m wondering if the doors have been tested in cold weather, specifically if they will stay open at -30C for example. I’m in northern Ontario and gas cylinder assisted doors and hatches can be problematic. As well, I’ve encountered weather stripping on doors and windows freezing and sticking on several vehicles I’ve owned.

In general with regards to the door design I’m not that enthusiastic. I would prefer something along the lines of a minvan side door type of opening. I think it would be more stable and provide even better access.

• Bob Kirchner Kirchner

August 18, 2021 at 1:55 pm

As a former Ottawa resident, I can relate. Most gas strut systems work in the cold initially, but when they begin to lose pressure, cold weather is when they will fail first.

I hope that the door design positions the struts so that they have good leverage to support the door. I also hope that the design specifies a fairly commonly available strut, so that they can be easily replaced when they fail.

As for sliding doors, I think the problem would be that the necessary tracks for the door would have a huge impact on the aerodynamic drag of the car, which is the car’s secret sauce, so to speak.

For sticking weatherstripping, I have found that an annual spray-down with silicone lubricant works wonders to prevent freezing in place.

• Raj Giandeep

August 18, 2021 at 3:20 pm

You could plan ahead & pre-heat the car. To melt the ice perhaps.

• John Malcom

August 18, 2021 at 6:37 pm

Bob is right. Sliding doors would negatively impact aerodynamics, one of the things (I guess secret sauce is a good term) we all like.